Sitecore – Remove “Publish Site”

This article describes what needs to be done to remove the option “publish site” from the menu of all users.

Basically you need to go to the core database and deny access to certain items in the menu to the role Everyone. Assigning or denying permissions to the role Everyone will assign or deny those permissions to all users except administrators (because administrators will bypass all security checks). It is important to realize that besides the role Everyone, there are also roles called Everyone within every domain; but to assign or deny permissions to every user you need to use the role Everyone and not the role Everyone in a specific domain.

Remove the “Publish Site” option from the Start menu

  1. Go to the core database.
  2. Start the “security editor”.
  3. Click “Account” select the non-domain “Everyone” role.
  4. Go to the content item “/sitecore/content/Documents and settings/All users/Start menu/Left/Publish Site” and select deny in the column “Read”.sc1

Remove the “Publish Site” option from the “content editor>publish” menu

  1. Go to the core database.
  2. Start the “security editor”.
  3. Click “Account” select the non-domain “Everyone” role.
  4. Go to the content item “/sitecore/content/Applications/Content Editor/Menues/Publish/Publish Site” and select deny in the column “Read”.
  5. sc2

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s